Having trouble getting registered or subscribing? Email us at info@kysportsreport.com or Private Message CitizenBBN and we'll get you set up!

  • Kevin Knox named SEC co-freshman of the year, Rick Barnes COY, Grant Williams POY

    SEC Media Relations


    Birmingham, Ala. – The Southeastern Conference unveiled its men’s basketball coaches’ postseason awards Tuesday.

    Tennessee’s Rick Barnes earned SEC Coach of the Year honors and Grant Williams was selected the SEC Player of the Year by the league’s coaches. Georgia’s Juwan Parker earned SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year; Alabama’s Collin Sexton and Kentucky’s Kevin Knox were tabbed SEC Co-Freshman of the Year; Missouri’s Jontay Porter and Tennessee’s Lamonté Turner were voted SEC Co-Sixth Man of the Year; and South Carolina’s Chris Silva and Texas A&M’s Robert Williams were named the SEC Co-Defensive Player of the Year.

    First-team and second-team All-SEC honorees, All-Freshman team, All-Defensive team, along with Player, Coach and Freshman, Defensive, Sixth-Man and Scholar-Athlete of the Year were chosen by the league’s 14 coaches. Ties were not broken.

    A complete list of the 2018 SEC Men’s Basketball postseason awards follows:

    First Team All-SEC

    Jaylen Barford, Arkansas
    Chris Chiozza, Florida
    Yante Maten, Georgia
    Kevin Knox, Kentucky
    Kassius Robertson, Missouri
    Chris Silva, South Carolina
    Grant Williams, Tennessee
    Tyler Davis, Texas A&M

    Second Team All-SEC
    Collin Sexton, Alabama
    Daryl Macon, Arkansas
    Bryce Brown, Auburn
    Jared Harper, Auburn
    Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Kentucky
    Quinndary Weatherspoon, Miss. State
    Admiral Schofield, Tennessee
    Jeff Roberson, Vanderbilt

    All-Freshman Team

    Collin Sexton, Alabama
    Daniel Gafford, Arkansas
    Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Kentucky
    Kevin Knox, Kentucky
    Tremont Waters, LSU
    Nick Weatherspoon, Miss. State
    Jontay Porter, Missouri
    TJ Starks, Texas A&M

    All-Defensive Team
    Donta Hall, Alabama
    Anfernee McLemore, Auburn
    Chris Chiozza, Florida
    Chris Silva, South Carolina
    Robert Williams, Texas A&M

    Coach of the Year: Rick Barnes, Tennessee

    Player of the Year: Grant Williams, Tennessee

    Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Juwan Parker, Georgia

    Co-Freshman of the Year: Collin Sexton, Alabama & Kevin Knox, Kentucky

    Co-Sixth-Man of the Year: Jontay Porter, Missouri & Lamonté Turner, Tennessee

    Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Chris Silva, South Carolina & Robert Williams, Texas A&M
    This article was originally published in forum thread: Kevin Knox named SEC co-freshman of the year, Rick Barnes COY, Grant Williams POY started by Darrell KSR View original post
  • KSR Twitter Feed

  • Recent Forum Posts


    Re: D Day for Three Cats

    I hope Gabriel is back. His return makes the most sense to me.
    He loves playing for Cal, is the most endeared to the program, and lacks the pressure

    kingcat Today, 07:33 PM Go to last post

    Re: D Day for Three Cats

    My prediction is PJ and Vanderbilt back, Gabriel gone.

    dtalbersjr Today, 07:24 PM Go to last post
    Darrell KSR

    D Day for Three Cats

    Agree with this.

    Darrell KSR Today, 07:16 PM Go to last post
    Darrell KSR

    SEC Baseball Tournament Championship

    I get it for the most part, except for the pitcher. I think Hjelle's performance stood on its own. He was magnificent.

    Darrell KSR Today, 07:15 PM Go to last post

    Re: SEC Baseball Tournament Championship

    The players you mentioned earlier were snubbed in the voting because the TEAM under performed so badly that voters did not deem them worthy of individual

    dan_bgblue Today, 07:09 PM Go to last post