Having trouble getting registered or subscribing? Email us at info@kysportsreport.com or Private Message CitizenBBN and we'll get you set up!

Thread: new home help--internet and TV

new home help--internet and TV

After much chagrin and an amazing amount of work courtesy of our mortgage company, we finally closed on a new house. So am in the process of setting up services. My biggest hurdle is the internet and TV options. The house does have access to Comcast/Xfinity thru fiberoptics, which we have had in the past, and were comfortable with. So that is an option however we are also exploring others. The house has 6 TV's including two outdoors, and I believe all were wired to cable boxes at some point. Second, my wife's job requires reliable and quick internet access. We are looking into T-moble for internet access but is only 245Mbps so not sure that is enough for multiple TV streamings plus wife's work needs. Also, I have no experience with streaming other than ESPN+ and Amazon Prime. Obviously, I need the "sports channels" (ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU, SEC, FXSports, FL Bally), local channels, and the normal cable networks (FOXNEWS, TBS, TNT, HGTV, etc....)

Thoughts?
    Aging is an extraordinary process where you become the person you always should have been.--David Bowie.

Rupp's Runt

Re: new home help--internet and TV

245 is fine Mbps. I run an entire company off of 100Mbps with no issues. We have about 60 computers plus other devices.

* Just make sure you are getting 245 Mbps. Paying for it and getting it are two different things.
    * I have Xfinity, and get 900 Mbps down for $80 a month. 25 Mbps upload
    * Check on the upload speed as well, that can be important working from home. Not all offer the same speed up and down.
    * Faster is good, but dependability is better IMO
    * 6 TVs sounds like a pretty large home. Wi-Fi coverage will be just as important and Internet speed.

Edit to add:
    * My comcast is up to 900Mbps, I rarely get that.