Having trouble getting registered or subscribing? Email us at info@kysportsreport.com or Private Message CitizenBBN and we'll get you set up!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Retirement...and dates...

COVID has done many things. One it had done for me is get me focused on retirement and setting a date. As a former accountant I had always been focused on a number but that was not a date, it was a fiscal amount.

As I have seen several acquaintances pass away suddenly in the past 11 months, all of a sudden that fiscal number is less important than the date number.

I am 56 today. Do I have fiscal balances I wish I could hit before stepping away from an income...yes.

But also now know there are things I want to do with the wife and family before I am gone.

Complicating is a 13 year old daughter I have to get through college (and high school).

But, the dates are somewhat set. If I am where I think I will be investment wise my last day of work will be Dec. 31, 2028. I will have just turned 64. If not, I will go another 18 months and fiscal balance be damned, I will be done June 30, 2030.

Have any of you set dates yet?

Not retiring. I'll just take time off when I want (as I do now, and have for years) and get more choosy on what type of work I do. But I'm the oddball.

My Dad worked until he was 80. My father-in-law, until mid-80s. I plan on beating both.

I’m ready now, but trying to dig it out 2-3 more years. I do think, while I am going to retire from full time work, I still might do some consultant work part time on my own schedule.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    "I have touched all the so-called capitals of basketball, but when it gets down to the short stroke, the only true capital of basketball is in Lexington." AL McGuire

Re: Retirement...and dates...

I retired a year and half ago (medically). Best thing ever

Rupp's Runt

I retired the day after my 66th birthday, last May, which was my plan.