Having trouble getting registered or subscribing? Email us at info@kysportsreport.com or Private Message CitizenBBN and we'll get you set up!

• Tuesday Q&A with receiver Demarcus Sweat

By: LARRY VAUGHT

DeMarcus Sweat

Question: When you scored your first touchdown on a 56-yard catch and run against Kent State, why was there not a huge burst of emotion from you?
    Sweat: “I have always been like that. You just expect a lot for yourself and want to act like you have been there and will be back. You don’t want any 15-yard penalties (for celebrating) to hurt the team. You want to act like you have done this. I am a freshman and there should be more to come.”

Question: Was it just spontaneous to high-five the cheerleaders when you did score?
    Sweat: “It was just popped in my head. I just felt like the crowd would be in it if I gave the cheerleaders a little touch like that.”

Question: Do you feel you are progressing as fast as you hoped you would?
    Sweat: “I mean as far ... yes with the playbook and benefitting the team. I was just really focused on getting on the field and helping the team out as much as I could as a freshman. So I guess you could say yes that I am benefitting the team a good little bit right now as a freshman.”

Question: Is that the kind of explosive play you can make either catching passes or returning kicks?
    Sweat: “Yes. We have a lot of good receivers. When my name is called and I get in there, I am going to try and make something good happen for the team.”

Question: How hard is it to pick up the blocking assignments?
    Sweat: “It is not hard. The game moves way faster than high school, but once you get a little hang of it you are going to start picking up the blocks and everything will come natural.”

Question: Has the offense been better than you expected?