PDA

View Full Version : More camera questions

CGWildcat
05-31-2013, 08:43 PM
I've recently read up on the "mirrorless" cameras. I think they're otherwise known as Micro 43s. So now I'm a bit torn. Can I get the shots I want with a Micro and some of their lenses? They are pretty small and much easier to carry around. I'm in no means to the level of our very own Badrose, I'm just starting out in this endeavor and its all for fun.

I want to take some animal action shots (dogs running, hummingbirds, etc.) Plus the big landscapes, Golden Gate Bridge, country scenes, Pacific coast, etc. and occasional small little bug. Video is not that big of deal to me.

Here are a couple I'm considering....

http://www.samsung.com/uk/consumer/camera-camcorder/smart-cameras/nx-cameras/EV-NX300ZBATGB

http://www.pocket-lint.com/review/120750-panasonic-lumix-gf6-review

http://panasonic.net/avc/lumix/systemcamera/gms/gh3/

dan_bgblue
05-31-2013, 09:20 PM
I never handled one. My experience with old film SLRs and DSLR cameras tells me I want hot shoe or ring flash capability shooting bugs or any other object up close in less than perfect light.(macro shooting) Many times when you are sneaking up on the little critter you have to block out the sunlight with your body or head to get the shot and the flashes I mentioned are critical for a good image.

Also if the camera does not have a viewfinder and only gives the photographer the option of shooting at arms length using the screen on the back of the body to frame the shot leads to shaky (blurry) images in less than great light.

I have a Canon S5IS that I have had for years that is great for snapshots in good light and has the macro feature that allows for bug photos on the fly. It has a fixed, zoom lens that can not be changed but does a great job.

I hope someone can give you good advice on the micro 4/3rds systems