PDA

View Full Version : Battery charging advice

Darrell KSR
01-09-2017, 12:28 PM
Daughter's car wasn't started for about 10 days. Temperature dropped to sub-arctic conditions. Well, for Alabama, 16 or so.

Should I just hook up my basic Schumacker 7500A, and put it on a 2A charge and let it trickle charge it? I guess that's what it is doing. Or should I just put it on the 12A charge instead?

I THINK I read where I wasn't supposed to use the 2A charger setting as a trickle charge for "larger" batteries, but will it hurt the battery if I do that?

CitizenBBN
01-09-2017, 05:33 PM
I'm not an expert, but I imagine the trickle charge is fine. I hope a real expert chimes in b/c I'd like to know for sure too. I usually trickle charge thinking that it's the better option, but I could be dead wrong.

KeithKSR
01-09-2017, 09:16 PM
If it is really down I'd start with the 2a, otherwise use the 12a setting. Typically the 2a is for things like lawnmower batteries.

KentuckyWildcat
01-10-2017, 07:55 PM
We use 12 on our tractor batteries. However, in my experience, if you are charging batteries you just need to buy a new one if you need dependable.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

BigBluePappy
01-10-2017, 09:32 PM
10 days and it won't hold enough charge to start a car?
Charge it up, start the car and take it to your local AutoZone, O'Reilly's, Advanced etc and have them do a test on it in the car and if necessary take it out and out it under a load test to see if you don't have a dead cell or a dead short between cells.
Just my $0.02 worth.

Darrell KSR
01-11-2017, 11:20 AM
Update--I charged it up, per the advice here. It "almost" started without charging. Have driven it two days, no problem, multiple starts.

dan_bgblue
01-11-2017, 01:35 PM
Pappy knows best, believe me. The auto parts places do not charge for checking the battery or charging system.