PDA

View Full Version : Legal Liability

KentuckyWildcat
12-07-2015, 12:16 PM
God forbid you have to use your conceal carry or home defense weapon. Is there difference legally in buying one used from an individual vs buying new from a dealer?

Coworker just offered me his 9mm Shield. Not anything special of a deal but I like the fact that the government would not know I had it. But I also want to be able to carry it in the way the law designs.

CitizenBBN
12-07-2015, 05:52 PM
I'm not a lawyer, so take this FWIW, but i do teach the kentucky concealed carry class and know their law section pretty well.

AFAIK there's no real difference where you got the gun. It's all about whether you are justified in defending yourself and the circumstances of the encounter, not the choice or origin of weapon. In fact in Kentucky "deadly weapon" includes more than firearms, including switchblades, stilletos (sp), nun-chucks, throwing stars and other stuff.

A private transfer has no record, and that is a big plus for a lot of folks, at least for some of their guns. I will say that when you buy one from a FFL there is no record in the way most think of it, but there is a record. the 4473 form is the only permanent record and the FFL holds that and doesn't submit anything, but with the hitch that if they retire and close up they send those in to ATF so then ATF has them.

KentuckyWildcat
12-07-2015, 07:11 PM
So would that gun be "legally purchased"?

CitizenBBN
12-07-2015, 09:11 PM
In Kentucky absolutely. You can buy from an individual with no records and that's between the parties. In some states it would be illegal (California for example), but not here.

suncat05
12-08-2015, 01:13 PM
KW, this is just me thinking out loud, but if it were me I'd be looking to make as many of MY purchases from private individuals as possible. IJS........

KeithKSR
12-08-2015, 07:02 PM
So would that gun be "legally purchased"?