PDA

View Full Version : What are you writing with now? Pen-pencil talk

Darrell KSR
07-07-2014, 12:05 AM
I go through phases. For about a month, I've been in my pencil phase. Like to use really nice sliding sleeve mechanical pencils, where $20 can buy you something really "nice" in the pencil world. Usually like to get dark, softer lead for bolder strokes, like B or 2B. I can go with 0.5mm or 0.7mm either one. I have a 0.9mm one, but right now, I just have HB lead for it, and that's not as much fun.

I briefly went back to fountain pens, but shelved it temporarily when my wife located my Mont Blanc ballpoint. Has a bold, blue point that I really like. I have been missing it for about 10 years. I kid you not. it was given to me 27 years ago from my old firm when I left them as a going away gift when I headed back to tax school.

My wife also located a gold Cross pen my parents gave me for my high school graduation. Been missing that one at least that long, if not longer. (She cleaned out a closet and a dresser this weekend.) Anyway, was excited to see it had a PDA stylus in it, then disappointed that it was an old-style stylus that doesn't work on smartphones or whatever.

By the way, after I go through this phase, I'll probably go back to G2 pens and Bic 1.6 or 1.8 mm broad tip pens. See a pattern here? I do like razor thin pens on occasion, depending on what I'm writing and the reason(s), but usually it's a broad tip.

What are you writing with these days?

Darrell KSR
07-07-2014, 12:07 AM
Oh -- 2nd question --

Anybody know if Cross makes a ballpoint pen type refill that has the capacitive touch end? I'm not talking about the Tech 2 (or 3) pen "top," but an actual refill that screws in the standard Cross pen, but instead of having a ballpoint tip it has the smartphone type stylus tip.

dan_bgblue
07-08-2014, 08:41 PM
Cheap, Pilot G2 super fine gell ink black pens

KSRBEvans
07-09-2014, 08:25 AM